Blog

WORKSHOPS: MarketReady

The MarketReady workshops will help farmers learn what it takes to market their products directly to restaurants, grocery stores and other wholesale market channels. Topics include: communication and relationship building, packaging and labeling, pricing, marketing, supply, delivery, storage, invoicing, insurance, quality assurance and proper temperature control, certifications and audits and working cooperatively. MarketReady was developed by a team led by Dr. Tim Woods at the University of Kentucky.

Choose 1 of 3 core content overview sessions. (These sessions will all be identical content offered at three different dates and times.) Those completing the core content overview session may then participate in a 5 part series of in-depth sessions that will focus on key business functions including packaging and labeling, insurance, quality assurance, logistics and marketing. In-depth topic sessions will be held on Wednesdays at 11am-12:30pm Central/12pm-1:30pm Eastern time January 27 through February 24. Contact Jared Bruhin with questions at jmbruhin@utk.edu.

The three options for core session trainings are below (register for only ONE of the following):
December 14, 2020
11am-1pm Central/12pm-2pm Eastern

January 11, 2021
6:30pm – 8:30pm Central/7:30pm – 9:30pm Eastern

January 15, 2021
11am-1pm Central/12pm-2pm Eastern

This workshop fulfills a Tennessee Agricultural Enhancement Program (TAEP) requirement in the Agritourism, Fruit and Vegetable and Value-Added Producer Diversification Sectors. The same registered producer (using the same name) must meet ALL of the following criteria: attend 1 of the 3 core content overview sessions and attend 4 of the 5 in-depth sessions in order to receive the credit for TAEP as no substitutions will be allowed. For additional information regarding educational programs for TAEP requirements, please contact Erica Alexander at the Tennessee Department of Agriculture, 615-837-5324.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.